Time Heals 

I thought the pain would never end.

I was wrong.

Each day that passes I let go of a memory.

If your memories are my scars I am removing them, one by one.

If your memories have burned me, these wounds are healing slowly.

I thought nothing could take away the pain-but-as they say-time heals all wounds.

It is true what they say. Time works magic.

We just have to be patient with time and heal slowly. Healing, real healing, takes time. It cannot be rushed.

Day by day, joy comes back to me.

I am starting to feel like myself again.

A whole and free spirit, not trapped, but flying peacefully through time, expecting less and less of what I wanted in the past–

I remember my longing for you and I find it silly now–

“Why do we need an other to feel one?” There are many answers to this question but perhaps it is to feel like we belong to something, that we are part of something.

Now, human companionship and intimacy are very important but we can find love in so many things: in nature, in art, in literature, in the beauty of meditation, etc.

I found love in myself-and that longing-for you-has evolved into a longing for me.

It isn’t narcissism. It’s self-love and there’s a great difference. 

What I mean is that I don’t imagine a fantasy of being with a soul mate any longer, rather I imagine myself in a peaceful and quiet place somewhere cool and beautiful, staring nature right in the face. I imagine myself swimming in warm waters and feeling the sun hit my pale skin. I imagine myself listening to live orchestral music and feeling true love in a way I had never imagined. 
A love that lives in time. That is perhaps the most eternal love. 

Leave a Reply

