On Medication

Being treated for anxiety, depression, and psychosis, is no easy feat.

What really bothers me is the fact that I feel like I am powerless over my disease. That I can’t control the stability of my emotions without medication.

Considering the mental health stigma we have today, it is difficult to talk about such things–unless we speak with open minded individuals.

Medication keeps me sane but it also thwarts my creativity and I don’t crave pleasure as much as I normally do.

I know hypersexuality, delusions, and hallucinations, are symptoms but I have yet to receive a diagnosis.

I wait and hope to understand more about this disease or what exactly is my need for chemical stability when I used to be mentally healthy almost all of my life.

At 21 years of age, I await an uncertain future of obstacles and sacrifices. Life is hard sometimes, but the truth is, I wouldn’t be well without my pills.
Thank God for science and medicine.

Leave a Reply

