Why is it important to keep going?

In the face of crises, it is easy (or not necessarily easy but kind of default behavior) to give up. We might think, “I’m done” or “I can’t do it anymore.” But we should remember the things that are worth fighting for–the things that keep us going. I’ve practiced gratitude journaling here and there and find it helpful to remember what I am truly grateful for in this life.

In my mindfulness practice, I’ve decided to make a list of ten things that I am grateful for every day. Here’s what I’m grateful for today:

1.That first cup of coffee.

2.My delicious breakfast (thank you, Nutella!)

3.Today’s rain brings welcome respite from the heat in Puerto Rico.

4.A new app for me–“Hanx Writer”–reminds me that I would love a typewriter (but this is good for now!)

5.A break from school gives me time to write (it’s also a break from assigned reading.)

6.Truthfully? Living at home. And my lovely mother.   🙂

7.Having three sisters and their company when things get boring.

8.Listening to these songs today has made a big difference: Ask by The Smiths, White Winter Hymnal by Fleet Foxes, and the soundtrack of the film Brooklyn (wonderful soundtrack!)

9.A good shower cures anything.

10.I talk to my grandparents on a daily basis. They remind me why it’s important to keep going. Even when we feel blue for no particular reason.

What keeps you going every day? What are you grateful for today?

 

Leave a Reply

